The judges of the American Iris Society, voting the official ballot for 2019, have selected the following irises for awards:

The Dykes Medal

'Bottle Rocket', Tall Bearded Iris, by Michael Sutton with 29 votes out of 378 votes cast

The Mary Swords DeBaillon Medal (MSDM) - 126 votes cast

'Dark Dude' by Ron Betzer with 24 votes

'Lemon Zest' by Kevin Vaughn with 24 votes

'Michigan Belle' by Jill Copeland with 24 votes

Runners Up for MSDM:

'Blue Splatter' by Wayland Rudkin with 16 votes

'Seminole Moon' by Harry Wolford with 14 votes

'Gris Gris' by Patrick O'Connor with 12 votes

'Southern Star' by Heather Pryor with 12 votes

The official results of the AIS awards for 2018 pertaining to Louisiana irises are:

The Mary Swords DeBaillion Medal - 143 votes cast - 1 winner

32 votes - 'Deja Voodoo' by Patrick O'Connor

Runners Up:

24 votes - 'Dark Dude' by Ron Betzer

18 votes - 'Michigan Belle' by Jill Copeland

17 votes - 'Edna Grace' by Heather Pryor

16 votes - 'Blue Splatter' by Wayland Rudkin

13 votes - 'Lafayette Moon' by Hooker Nichols

Louisiana Irises Award of Merit - 252 votes cast - 2 winners

59 votes - 'When Pigs Fly' by Patrick O'Connor

49 votes - 'Watermelon Wizard' by Hooker Nichols

Dean Lee and Laurel Bridgman receive the Society for Louisiana Irises Distinguished Merit AwardDean Lee and Laurel Bridgman receive Distinguished Merit Award At the 1993 Spring Meeting and Show, SLI officials announced that long-time members William Dean Lee and Laurel Bridgman of Magnolia, Texas won the Society's prestigious Distinguished Merit Award. The award is bestowed by the SLI Board of Directors in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of Louisiana irises. 
Dean joined the Society in the late 1940s and has remained active and involved in SLI since that time. Horticulture has been a life-long hobby, and he acquired a broad knowledge of the subject. His interest in Louisiana irises led to a number of contributions to their cause.